American Betiya

Anuradha D. Rajurkar (Author)
Retail: CA$23.99
You Pay: CA$4.35
You Save 82%
In stock
Only 351 left
SKU
141301
Product Type: Hardcover Books
Age Groups: Ages 13 to 15, Ages 16 to 18

This book is a remainder. It is brand new and unread but the cover may have stickers from other retailers or a small line or dot on the outside, indicating that the book was returned unsold from a store to the publisher and sold to us from a remainder list. Remainder opportunities allow us to make terrific titles available to you at especially deep discounts, increasing our ability to provide a wide array of books at the lowest possible cost.

A luminous story of a young artist grappling with first love, family boundaries and the complications of a cross-cultural relationship. Perfect for fans of Sandhya Menon, Erika Sanchez and Jandy Nelson.

Rani Kelkar has never lied to her parents, until she meets Oliver. The same qualities that draw her in—his tattoos, his charisma, his passion for art—make him her mother's worst nightmare.

They begin dating in secret, but when Oliver's troubled home life unravels, he starts to ask more of Rani than she knows how to give, desperately trying to fit into her world, no matter how high the cost. When a twist of fate leads Rani from Evanston, Illinois to Pune, India for a summer, she has a reckoning with herself—and what's really brewing beneath the surface of her first love.

Winner of SCBWI's Emerging Voices award, Anuradha D. Rajurkar takes an honest look at the ways cultures can clash in an interracial relationship. Braiding together themes of sexuality, artistic expression, and appropriation, she gives voice to a girl claiming ownership of her identity, one shattered stereotype at a time.

More Information
SKU 141301
ISBN 9781984897152
Language English
Lexile ® Measure HL710L
Page Count 368
Product Type Hardcover Books
Book Type Young Adult Novels
Primary Contributor Anuradha D. Rajurkar
Age Groups Ages 13 to 15, Ages 16 to 18
Publisher Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers