The Big Sting

Rachelle Delaney (Author)
Retail: CA$11.99
You Pay: CA$5.87
You Save 51%
In stock
Only 54 left
SKU
143436
Product Type: Paperback Books
Age Groups: Ages 7 to 9, Ages 10 to 12

A visit to Leo's grandfather's farm turns upside down when his grandmother's beehives are stolen. A light-hearted and funny middle-grade novel for fans of Rebecca Stead and Lynda Mullaly Hunt.

Eleven-year-old Leo is an "armchair adventurer." This, according to Dad, means he'd choose adventures in books or video games over real-life experiences. And while Leo hates the label, he can't argue with it. Unlike his little sister Lizzie, Leo is not a risk-taker.

So when he, Lizzie, Mom and Dad leave the city to visit Grandpa on Heron Island, Leo finds all kinds of dangers to avoid — from the deep, dark ocean to an old barn on the verge of collapse. But nothing on the island is more fearsome than Grandpa himself — Leo has never met anyone so grumpy! According to Mom, Grandpa is still grieving the recent death of his wife, a beekeeper beloved by everyone on the island.

Despite Leo's best efforts to avoid it, adventure finds him anyway when Grandma's beehives go missing in the dead of night. Infuriated, Grandpa vows to track down the sticky-fingered thieves himself...with risk-averse Leo and danger-loving Lizzie (plus a kitten named Mayhem) in tow.

More Information
SKU 143436
ISBN 9780735269323
Language English
Lexile ® Measure 640L
Page Count 224
Product Type Paperback Books
Book Type Middle Grade Novels
Primary Contributor Rachelle Delaney
Age Groups Ages 7 to 9, Ages 10 to 12
Publisher Tundra